Living in a Body
Living in a Body
Hal, the Imaginary Harpist
16
0:00
-6:07

Hal, the Imaginary Harpist

Episode 14 - Adding to the List of Unused Items in My Attic
16

Hi. I’m Hal. I live in a body and this is “Living in a Body.” If you live in a body too, I’d like to welcome you here. To hear me narrate the story with original harp music, click the play button. (6 minute listen) Thank you for your attention. I appreciate you. Hal



Hal the Imaginary Harpist

(Press Play Above)

I’ve made a few questionable purchases in my life.

Every once in a while, the thought that I absolutely must have something gets stuck in my head. As if my brain gets hijacked, I end up doing whatever needs to be done to get the item into my possession. On several occasions, this has been my downfall. Like that harp, for instance.


Woodsy’s — The Best Music Store in the Whole World

I was walking down South Water Street past Woodsy’s Music when I saw a very attractive black harp in the window. I hadn’t planned on buying a harp that day, but I was struck with a sudden inspiration. In my Friday afternoon imagination, I suddenly became a harpist. I imagined myself practicing the harp for 20 minutes a day, writing songs with the harp, performing on the harp in schools, and playing the harp at church on Sunday mornings. I mean, c’mon, I’m Hal Walker. Of course, I play the harp. I pictured this harp opening up a whole new dimension of myself as a musician. In that moment on the sidewalk in Kent, buying that harp made perfect sense. Not only would I declare it as a professional expense, but my house would forever vibrate with the angelic sounds of the harp.

To resist the immediacy of the temptation, I probably took a walk around the block or maybe I went home for a few hours, but the idea of owning that harp was already lodged in my brain. That instrument was gonna fix some part of my life problem and there’s no way I was gonna let it go. An hour, a day or a week later, I walked into Woodsy’s and proudly announced that I would like to purchase the harp that’s in the window. I laid down my credit card and I officially became a new harp owner.


Unzipping the harp for the first time in years.

The harp that I’m referring to has been sitting in my attic since I bought it in 2004. I’ve played it several times. In fact, if I can get it in tune, I hope to play it today to accompany this episode of “Living in a Body.” I think I played it at church one time. I remember once I bought a whole set of instruction books with the idea that those books would solve my unplayed harp problem. But no... it didn’t work. Those books are on the shelf now, too. That harp has joined the sad list of unused items in my attic that I hope to sell someday on Facebook Marketplace. Fortunately (or unfortunately), I have a big attic. Anyone want a harp?

The list of poor purchases goes on and on, but next week I’d like to tell you about a good purchase — possibly one of the best purchases of my life. In the next episode, I’d like to introduce you to my float tank. Also known as a sensory deprivation tank, its a large coffin-like box that holds 10 inches of skin temperature epsom salt solution. Accessible from the upstairs bathroom, the float tank is a dark, silent, womb-like retreat. I go there to float when I need deep rest, comfort or inspiration.


Next Week: Float

It’s Tuesday now, but when you read this, I’ll be in Austin, Texas getting ready to see my daughter perform in the Rocky Horror Picture Show at the Zach Theatre. I can’t wait to see Hallie perform, to spend time with my old buddy JP and to see my sisters, my niece, my nephews and my brother-in-law. The whole family will be spending the weekend in an airbnb just a few blocks away from the theatre. Believe it or not, I also get to see my new sponsor while I’m there. He lives in Austin.

I’m planning on leaving the harp at home, but I think I’ll carry that float tank with me in my mind. Whenever I feel overwhelmed with illness or overstimulated with the outside world, I’ll imagine the warmth, the dark and the quiet peace that I experience in that tank. I’ll close my eyes, put a little smile on my face come back to reality and then imagine some harp music playing in the background.

Wish me luck everybody. This is gonna be a big journey. Have a great Saturday. Enjoy. As always, thank you for so much for being here. I appreciate you. Hal

Leave a comment



Hang out with me on TikTok. (1.6M followers)
Grow with me on YouTube. (55k subscribers)
I haven’t figured out Twitter yet, but I’m there. (359 followers)
I stop by Facebook occasionally. (2.3k followers)
My website is super old but I’m hoping to revamp it soon.
Send me a postcard: P.O. Box 1043 Kent, Oh 44240
Start your own Substack! I’d be happy to help you get started.
Finally, Text me: 330-625-5168


16 Comments
Living in a Body
Living in a Body
Hal Walker, Ohio musician and writer living with severe ME/CFS, weaves music, stories and community from his bed.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Hal Walker